• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Getting Bulky AND Toned (body building)

arthunter888

Bluelighter
I'm a 21 year old male in decent shape. I'm really new to body building, so please excuse my ignorance. I made a personal goal of making my body muscular (as in big muscles) AND ripped (as in chiseled). From my (limited) understanding there are opposing approaches to each.

Bulking

Maximize weight/exertion with less repetitions.
Exercise only once or twice a week to allow for muscle growth.
Eat more calories than you expend (lots of protein).

Cutting

Moderate weight/exertion with more repetitions.
Exercise at least 3 times a week.
Eat fewer calories than you expend (low on fats, low on carbs?).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If one were to achieve both goals, I'm assuming that since the approaches are opposite that the only way would be to focus on one goal exclusively for a period of time (6 months?), then work on the other exclusively for a period, right?

Which one would you recommend doing first, and for how long? Also please give tips on what I should be trying to do in terms of exercise routine, and especially diet like things to eat, things to avoid, etc. (for each separate goal of course).

Also, if I'm bulking, then wouldn't eating big all day every day make the neglected muscle groups gets more fatty (I don't have time to work every muscle group)?
thanks

Last edited:
I'm a 21 year old male in decent shape. I'm really new to body building, so please excuse my ignorance. I made a personal goal of making my body muscular (as in big muscles) AND toned/ripped (as in chiseled). From my (limited) understanding there are opposing approaches to each.

Bulking

Maximize weight/exertion with less repetitions.
Exercise only once or twice a week to allow for muscle growth.
Eat more calories than you expend (lots of protein).

Toning

Moderate weight/exertion with more repetitions.